top of page

10 More Days : Countdown To A Big Change

10 more days to my last day at my current workplace. Well, I am surprised that I am still very committed to this countdown, and it feels good !


There's a reason why I choose Dory as this writing's cover photo. I am simply cloud 9 for no concrete reasons. I am in the mood of reflecting.

So today, this is how I feel - it is all about reflecting.


 

FEELING 1


As much as I can't wait to move on with my new life, today I have started to feel a little bit melancholic. I started to see how beautiful this company is (physically). I am going to miss every little physical aspects of it. This place has helped me a lot in growing.


I remember mom told me a few times on how much I have changed in terms of speaking and thinking since I worked here. I admit the truth behind it. It is the factor of diversity that makes me grow. I have learned on how to deal with various people despite their age, job title, race and background. Here, diversity is an obvious thing - something that not any companies has. That is the expensive value about this place.


Through the differences, I have learned a lot of aspects. Through these people, I have learned a lot of traits and qualities. It is worth my observations, and definitely worth of exampling the goods and eliminate the bad.


This morning, my colleague asked me one deep question : "Honestly, who are you going to miss when you leave this place ?". For awhile I went frozen, before I replied wittily, "You !". Since she is also leaving, so she insisted to know who else that I would remember dearly.


I took me so long to answer. Not that I hesitated to answer, but I simply did not have the answer. I tried recalling all faces that I knew, but failed to come out with a name.


Being a person who is quite private, I have a lot of the hi's and bye's colleagues, but I definitely have few that I personally like being with. But still, I failed to answer that question.


I claimed, "See how difficult it is for me to come out with an answer".


That moment makes me wonder why I couldn't come out with a name ? I take it as I am quite emotionless. It makes me realized that I've drawn a gap between myself and the others from being too attached to them, except for the selected ones. It could also be the reason that most of the selected ones have left the company, and there are also those who are also going to leave - so I end up having no one to be missed !


That moment actually concluded that I AM going to miss this place as a whole. Even though I have no specific people that I'm going to miss dearly, but the experiences with them would make great memories that I will miss dearly. I picture myself picking up a lot of stuff independently when I first joined the company. That experience made me one of the experienced employee in the company. I am well versed about others' designations and the rooms in the buildings. I know well on where do I head to if I encounter issues.


This place makes me a person. I am going to miss everything and everyone here as one whole entity.




Featured Articles
Recent Articles
Archive
bottom of page